Effective Presentations: How to Develop and Deliver a Farmer-Friendly Talk

PowerPoint and lecture presentations for complex issues such as farm management, IPM, decision making, and other such topics are ineffective educational tools. They seldom result in behavior changes or the adoption of new practices. Why do most farmer educators use lecture delivery as their primary means of education? The likely answer is they do not understand some basic tenets of effective adult education. This talk will provide an overview of best practices and provide examples of how they have been incorporated into Extension programming for farmers.

About the Presenter
Seth Wilner is a Farm Management Field Specialist with the University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension. He also runs the state SARE program, which for the past three years, has focused on effective education methods for farmers.

Join eOrganic for this webinar Monday, September 9 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific). This webinar is part of the Excellence in Organic Extension Webinar Series, organized by Dr. Julie Grossman, Alan Meijer, and Thanwalee (JiJY) Sooksa-nguan of North Carolina State University.

The webinar is free and open to the public. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the speaker.

Advance registration is required. Register now at http://www.extension.org/pages/68924
Sign up for other webinars in the Excellence in Organic Extension Series at http://www.extension.org/pages/68920

Find all upcoming and archived eOrganic webinars at http://www.extension.org/pages/25242

Presenters

Seth Wilner

Created by Alice Formiga

0 Comments