Organic Dry Bean Production Systems and Cultivar Choices

Join eOrganic for a webinar on Organic Dry Bean Production Systems and Cultivar Choices, by Thomas Michaels, Kris Moncada, Craig Sheaffer and Hannah Swegarden of the University of Minnesota. The webinar will take place on November 12, 2013 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). It is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Participants will be able to type in questions for the speaker. Register now at http://www.extension.org/pages/69284 About the webinar Dry bean shows good potential as a grain legume that will diversify organic cropping systems. This webinar will address some of the organic bean research being conducted at the University of Minnesota including weed control strategies, nitrogen equivalency of beans in rotation, yield stability of commercially available cultivars in organic systems, and the potential for growing organic heirloom beans for local markets. Tom Michaels is a professor of horticultural science whose research focus is dry bean genetics and breeding. Craig Sheaffer is a professor of agronomy and plant genetics whose research specialty is cropping systems. Hannah Swegarden and Claire Flavin are students in the applied plant science graduate program whose thesis research projects address problems in organic dry bean cropping systems.

Created by Alice Formiga