Trap Cropping in Organic Strawberries to Manage Lygus Bugs in California

Join eOrganic for a webinar on using alfalfa for trap cropping in organic strawberries, by Diego Nieto of the University of California Santa Cruz. The webinar takes place on December 3 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the presenter. Register now at: http://www.extension.org/pages/69153

About the Webinar

Diego Nieto will discuss the rationale for using alfalfa trap crops in organic strawberries. Points of emphasis will include the efficient and targeted approach to pest management, improved classical biological control and predator dispersion and behavior. Along with research findings from recent studies, this presentation will include grower recommendations for the implementation of trap cropping.

About the Presenter

Diego Nieto is an entomological researcher at the University of California, Santa Cruz, where he has worked to address pest issues in commercial agriculture for 12 years.  He has researched biological control, farmscaping and integrated pest management in cotton, broccoli, Brussels sprouts and strawberries.

Created by Alice Formiga

0 Comments