Worker-Owner Cooperatives

Please join us for a FREE webinar!

When:  Wednesday, December 18, 2013
4:00-5:00 pm EST/3:00-4:00 pm CST/2:00-3:00 pm MST/1:00-2:00 pm PST

Since the Great Recession there has been a great resurgence of interest in innovative ways of doing business. One such innovation is the Worker-Owner Cooperative. While popular in Europe, worker-owner co-ops have been less popular in the U.S., but that may be changing. The eXtension Cooperatives Community of Practice, in conjunction with USDA Rural Development Cooperative Programs and various state Cooperative Councils, will host a free webinar on Wednesday, December 18 from 3:00-4:00 pm CST where you can hear from worker-owners who will answer questions such as:

  • What are the advantages of a worker-owner cooperative over that of a traditional business and member cooperatives?
  • What are the challenges of a worker-owner cooperative?

Each of the panel members will talk about a worker-owner cooperative and the characteristics that make it a success.

Panel members will include:

  • Dr. Rebecca Kemble, Worker-Owner, Union Cab Cooperative of Madison, Madison, Wisconsin and President, U.S. Federation of Worker Cooperatives
  • Mr. Joe Rinehart, Rural Programs Coordinator, U.S. Federation of Worker Cooperatives, San Francisco, California
  • Ms. Leslie Schaller, Director of Programming, The Appalachian Center for Economic Networks (ACEnet), Athens, Ohio

Moderator:

  • Dr. Chester Bowling, Associate Professor, The Ohio State University, Food Innovation Center

Webinar Link:  https://connect.extension.iastate.edu/cooperatives    (Enter as guest.)

Participants who pre-register by emailing Wendi.M.Stachler@ndsu.edu will receive a copy of the presentation materials and discussion summary.

Presenters

Chester Bowling

Created by Wendi Mizer Stachler

Primary Audience: Not Set