Dehulling Ancient Grains Webinar

Join eOrganic for a webinar on dehulling ancient grains, presented by the research team of the NIFA OREI project Value-added Grains for Local and Regional Food Systems. The webinar will take place on Tuesday, November 18 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required.

Presenters: Brian Baker, Nigel Tudor, Elizabeth Dyck, Frank Kutka

About the Webinar

One roadblock to the increased production of the “ancient” grains einkorn, emmer, and spelt is the need for dehulling capacity, since these grains do not thresh free of the hull in the combine. This webinar will provide an overview of the methods used to dehull grain and the components needed in a dehulling system. Onefocus will be on the current dehulling options for both larger-scale and small-scale growers, includingcusto m dehulling, new and used dehullers, modification of milling/cleaning equipment to dehull, and building one’s own dehuller. The webinar will also focus on the economics of dehulling, including consideration of ancient grain yield, dehulling efficiency and costs, and prices for hulled and dehulled grain.

Register now at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/761521241



Created by Alice Formiga

0 Comments