Building Pest-Suppressive Organic Farms: Tools and Ecological Strategies Used by Five Long-Term Organic Farms to Suppress Insects

Join eOrganic for a webinar by organic farmers Helen Atthowe and Carl Rosato on Building Pest-Suppressive Organic Farms: Tools and Ecological Strategies Used by Five Long-Term Organic Farms to Suppress Insects. The webinar will take place on Tuesday, February 10, 2015 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Register now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/326010984

About the Webinar

The presenters will discuss what worked and what did not work on five long-term organic farms. They will also explore the question of how much diversity is enough and how to manage on-farm biological control organism habitat.

About the Presenters

Helen Atthowe has been farming on her own and consulting for other organic vegetable and fruit farms for 25 years. She was a horticulture extension agent for 15 years and owned and operated Biodesign Farm (30 acre diverse organic fruit and vegetable farm) in western Montana for 17 years. She spent 6 months as consulting vegetable grower for a 2000 acre organic vegetable and fruit farm in northern Colorado with a 5000 member CSA. She now co-owns Woodleaf Farm in northern California.

Carl Rosato started Woodleaf Farm in northern California in 1980. He is also an organic soil management consultant. Woodleaf Farm (26 acres of diverse organic fruit and vegetable production) is an organic pioneer: the 9th farm to be certified organic by CCOF in 1982. Carl has been doing organic disease and insect management research on his farm since he received his first OFRF grant in 1992, has taught organic farming at local colleges in California, and in 2012 received the Eco-farm 'Steward of Sustainable Agriculture" award.



Created by Alice Formiga