Promoting Native Bee Pollinators in Organic Farming Systems

Join eOrganic for a webinar on promoting native bee pollinators in organic farming systems by David Crowder and Elias Bloom of Washington State University. The webinar will take place on March 10, 2015 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the speakers.

Register now at: http://www.extension.org/pages/71374

About the Webinar

The webinar will cover the importance of native bee pollinators in organic farming systems, particularly diversified systems that produce many crops per year. We will first discuss the diversity of native bees in farming systems, and the roles they may play in supplementing (or replacing) honey bees for pollination services. We will also offer practical suggestions for how farmers can improve their native bee populations. Our webinar will also describe ongoing research in western Washington on native bee pollinators. 

The webinar will be geared to farmers and researchers, but primarily for farmers or individuals interested in biodiversity conservation (it will not be heavy on research methodology or jargon and may be too basic for many bee ecologists).

About the Presenters

David Crowder is an assistant professor of Entomology at Washington State University. His research focuses on insect ecology and the role of sustainable agriculture on insect communities

Elias Bloom in a PhD student in Entomology in the lab of Dr. David Crowder and Washington State University. His research focuses on the biology and ecology of native bee pollinators in diversified organic farming systems.



Created by Alice Formiga