Using Participatory Variety Trials to Assess Response to Environment in Organic Vegetable Crops

Join eOrganic for a webinar on March 3, 2015 on Using Participatory Variety Trials to Assess Response to Environment in Organic Vegetable Crops, by Alexandra Lyon of the University of Wisconsin. The webinar will take place at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required.

Register now at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7108820225597541122

About the Webinar

Beginning in 2010, the Northern Organic Vegetable Improvement Collaborative (NOVIC) has been conducting participatory vegetable variety trials on a network of organic farms across the northern U.S. While critical for producing findings that accurately reflect working farms, participatory research poses unique challenges in terms of data quality and analytical methods. Alexandra Lyon, a PhD student who has been working for NOVIC since 2010, will discuss a straightforward, graphical approach that uses the NOVIC variety trial data to assess the stability of variety performance across variable environments. From this work, future participatory breeding and variety trial efforts can be better informed and made more efficient and effective. This webinar is meant for an audience of researchers, farmers, and other professionals interested in farmer collaboration and participatory research.

About the Presenter

Alexandra Lyon studies how participatory plant breeding and variety trails can help meet the needs of organic vegetable growers in the Upper Midwest, as part of the Organic and Sustainable Research Program run by Dr. Erin Silva at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is a PhD candidate in the Nelson Institute for Environmental Science and a founding organizer of the Student Organic Seed Symposium, an annual event aimed at supporting graduate student involvement in organic seed and plant breeding.

System Requirements

View detailed system requirements here

Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar. If you have concerns, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar. If you are running Mac OS with Safari, please be sure to test your Java. If it isn't working, please try Firefox (http://www.mozilla.com) or Chrome (http://www.google.com/chrome). The webinar program will require you to download software before connecting you to the webinar, so if you don't have administrative rights on your computer, you may not be able to do this, although you can listen in by phone. If you'd like to test your connection to gotowebinar in advance, go here.


Created by Alice Formiga

0 Comments

Primary Audience: Not Set