Baking evaluation, sensory analysis, and nutritional characteristics of modern, heritage, and ancient wheat varieties

Join eOrganic for a webinar on March 25, 2015 on Baking evaluation, sensory analysis, and nutritional characteristics of modern, heritage, and ancient wheat varieties. The webinar takes place at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain and 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required.

Register now at: https://www.extension.org/pages/72647

About the Webinar

The world is buzzing with talk about improved tastes and nutritional profiles in products made from ancient wheats like einkorn, emmer, and spelt, and from heritage types of bread wheat like Red Fife. Which nutrients are higher in which varieties of these different wheat species? How does the flour cook up and how does the bread taste? How does one actually evaluate these characteristics in an unbiased way? Join us for a discussion of the results of baking and sensory testing of a number of kinds of wheat and a nutritional analysis of 100 kinds of einkorn.

About the Presenters

Lisa Kissing Kucek is a graduate student at Cornell University. She collaborates with organic farmers to breed new genotypes of wheat, spelt, emmer, and einkorn for the Northeast United States. 

Abdullah Jaradat, Supervisory agronomist and research leader working for the Agricultural Research Service in Morris, Minnesota. A wheat geneticist specialized in hulled wheat species and wheat landraces of the Fertile Crescent.

System Requirements

View detailed system requirements here

Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar. If you have concerns, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar. If you are running Mac OS with Safari, please be sure to test your Java. If it isn't working, please try Firefox (http://www.mozilla.com) or Chrome (http://www.google.com/chrome). The webinar program will require you to download software before connecting you to the webinar, so if you don't have administrative rights on your computer, you may not be able to do this, although you can listen in by phone. If you'd like to test your connection to gotowebinar in advance, go here.




Created by Alice Formiga