Extreme Weather: Challenges and Opportunities for Organic Farming Systems in the Midwest Region

Join eOrganic for a webinar on Extreme Weather: Challenges and Opportunities for Organic Farming Systems in the Midwest Region, by Joel Gruver of Western Illinois University. The webinar takes place on November 17, 2015 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The event is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

About the Webinar

This webinar will discuss the impacts of extreme weather on organic farming systems in the Midwest region and explore opportunities for increased weather resiliency with an emphasis on soil management.

The content of the webinar will draw primarily from research literature, farmer interviews and the presenter’s personal experiences conducting large-scale organic row-crop research in Western IL.

Drainage practices, tillage systems, crop establishment and rotation, cover crop and weed management, and precision technologies will be discussed as components of cropping systems that have greater weather resiliency both in terms of crop performance and management flexibility.

About the Presenter

Dr. Joel Gruver is an Associate professor of Soil Science and Sustainable Agriculture and director of the Organic Research Program at Western Illinois University

System Requirements

View detailed system requirements here. Please connect to the webinar 10 minutes in advance, as the webinar program will require you to download software. To test your connection in advance, gohere. You can either listen via your computer speakers or call in by phone (toll call). Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar. If you are running Mac OSU with Safari, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar, and if it isn't working, try Firefox or Chrome.

Created by Alice Formiga