Unique Fly Control Methods for Organic Dairy Production

Join eOrganic for a webinar about fly control options on certified organic dairy farms. The webinar will take place on March 24, 2016 at 2 p.m. Eastern Time, 1:00 p.m. Central, 12 p.m. Mountain and 11 a.m. Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public; advance registration is required.

Register now at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1773756717862333185

About the Webinar

Along with the wonderful grazing season and hot summer weather, come flies! One issue, consistent among the livestock farmers, is how to control flies under organic conditions. In this webinar, Drs. Brad Heins will describe practical options for fly control on lactating cows and growing dairy animals. The discussion will include a comparison of the Bruce Fly Trap and Spalding Cow-Vac, two control options that were researched at the University of Minnesota through a project funded by the USDA Organic Research and Extension Initiative.

About the Presenters

Dr. Brad Heins is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Animal Science at the University of Minnesota, focusing on organic dairy production. Currently, Dr. Heins conducts his research at the University of Minnesota’s West Central Research and Outreach Center (WCROC). The Center has a 100-head herd in a certified organic system, and a 130-head herd in a conventional grazing system.

System Requirements

Please connect to the webinar 10 minutes in advance, as the webinar program will require you to download software. To test your connection in advance, go here. You can either listen via your computer speakers or call in by phone (toll call). Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar. If you are running Mac OSU with Safari, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar, and if it isn't working, try Firefox or Chrome. For more detailed system requirements, go here.


Created by Alice Formiga

Primary Audience: Not Set