Impacts of the Food Safety Modernization Act on Diversified Organic Vegetable Farms

Join eOrganic for a webinar on the impacts of the Food Safety Modernization Act on Diversified Organic Vegetable Farms, by Erin Silva of the University of Wisconsin. The webinar takes place on March 29, 2016 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). The presentation is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

About the Webinar

For produce farms, 2016 marks the beginning of timelines established for operations to come into compliance with the FDA’s regulations associated with the Food Safety Modernization Act. While it still remains unclear as to how many aspects of the regulation will look “on the ground”, this webinar will address what diversified organic vegetable farmers need to begin thinking about with respect to moving forward toward compliance.

About the Presenter

Erin Silva is an Assistant Professor in University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Department of Plant Pathology and State Extension Specialist in Organic and Sustainable Cropping Systems. A major focus of her Extension programming includes on-farm food safety for diversified vegetable farmers.

System Requirements

Please connect to the webinar 10 minutes in advance, as the webinar program will require you to download software. To test your connection in advance, go here. You can either listen via your computer speakers or call in by phone (toll call). Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar. If you are running Mac OSU with Safari, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar, and if it isn't working, try Firefox or Chrome. For more detailed system requirments, go here.

Created by Alice Formiga

Primary Audience: Not Set