Stockpiling Forages to Extend the Grazing Season on Your Organic Dairy

Join eOrganic for a new webinar on Stockpiling Forages to Extend the Grazing Season on your Organic Dairy, presented by Laura Paine of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. The webinar will take place on Thursday, July 28 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM CT, 12PM MT, 11AM PT). It is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Register now at http://www.extension.org/pages/59789.
Find all eOrganic upcoming and archived webinars at http://www.extension.org/pages/25242

About the Webinar

Winter feed is a livestock farmer's biggest expense. Extending the grazing season using stockpiling can cut those costs by 20% or more. Stockpiling forage is a practice that allows pastures to grow for use at a later time, typically to extend the grazing season into the early winter months. In this webinar, Laura Paine will describe how best to stockpile forages, including forage species that do well under this practice, when to start stockpiling, and other management considerations.

About the Presenter

Laura Paine is a Grazing and Organic Agriculture Specialist for the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. There she helps develop markets for organic and grass-fed products. Laura has nearly 20 years experience conducting grazing research and education at University of Wisconsin and UW Extension. She has served on several organic and grazier advisory councils and teams including the GrassWorks, a farmer-led pasture group, and the Wisconsin Organic Advisory Council. She and her husband raise grass-fed beef on their farm near Columbus, Wisconsin.

If you were unable to attend our past webinars, you can watch them anytime on our archived webinar pages at http://www.extension.org/pages/25242 . For articles and videos on organic farming, please visit the eOrganic home page at http://www.extension.org/organic_production.

Presenters

Laura Paine

Created by Alice Formiga