Dairy Fat--What's In It For The Consumer?

Event starts: Wednesday, March 25 at 2:00 pm EDT

Event ends: Wednesday, March 25 at 3:15 pm EDT

Location: Register in advance at https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_P_IjX5feRx-OQfM4DfRTjw

Join eOrganic for the second webinar this winter on milk fatty acids! In this webinar, presenter Jana Kraft of the University of Vermont will discuss the fatty acids in dairy milk and their potential health benefits. The webinar takes place on March 25, 2020 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Register now at https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_P_IjX5feRx-OQfM4DfRTjw

About the Webinar

Dairy fat is undeniably the most complex and diverse dietary fat source in the human diet, comprising hundreds of different fatty acids and fatty acid derivatives that fulfill diverse structural, metabolic, and functional roles within the human body. Moreover, the fatty acid composition of dairy fat is distinct because approximately 70% of the total fatty acids are saturated as the result of ruminal biohydrogenation of dietary unsaturated fatty acids. Over the past two decades, most scientific and public attention has focused on saturated fatty acids. Yet, dairy fat contains a large variety of unique minor fatty acids or individual fatty acids that are generated by rumen microbes and the mammary gland. Recent studies indicate that these unique dairy-derived fatty acids possess unusual biological properties and health benefits beyond their basic nutritional value. The webinar will summarize the current knowledge on the bioactivity of dairy-derived fatty acids with emphasis on potential health benefits. Additionally, we will present data from a recently conducted study comparing the fatty acid composition and content, on a per serving basis, between the three types of retail milk (i.e., conventional milk, organic milk, and omega-3 fortified milk) in the Northeast U.S.

About the Presenter

Dr. Kraft holds a B.S. in Nutritional Sciences and a Ph.D. in Nutritional Physiology/Lipid Biochemistry from the University of Jena in Germany. After a period of postdoctoral work at both the University of Jena and the Unviersity of Vermont, she joined the Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences as an Assistant Professor. Her areas of expertise and research include dairy lipids and human health, lipid metabolism and fatty acid analysis.

Note: Our first milk fatty acid webinar was recorded--it focused on fatty acids in dairy cows and their diets. The recording is being processed and will be available on the eOrganic YouTube channel in a few more days!


Created by Alice Formiga

Primary Audience: Not Set