This event is expired. It is not recommended for technical reasons or is out of date.

Please check the event description below for more details

Reduced Tillage in Organic Vegetable Production Webinar

Join eOrganic for a webinar on Reduced Tillage in Organic Vegetable Production: Successes, Challenges, and New Directions, presented by Helen Atthowe of Biodesign Farms. Space is limited, and advance registration is required. The webinar will take place on December 13, 2011 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). Register now at http://www.extension.org/pages/61629/reduced-tillage-in-organic-vegetable-production-webinar

Reduced Tillage enhances plant diversity and improves soil health, fertility, and microbial activity. These benefits provide the backbone upon which biological control of insect pests and disease suppression occurs naturally at economically practical levels. The challenges are figuring out new methods and equipement to farm with so much plant residue in the system and balancing competition with the crop. This webinar will take you along on my 25 year journey to develop a reduced tillage organic vegetable production system.

Helen Atthowe has been farming on her own and consulting for other organic vegetable and fruit farms for 25 years. She was also a horticulture extension agent for 15 years, owned and operated Biodesign Farm (30 acre diverse, Organic fruit and vegetable farm) in western Montana for 17 years and recently spent 6 months as consulting vegetable grower on a 2000 acre organic vegetable and fruit farm in northern Colorado with a 5000 member CSA.

Created by Alice Formiga